Skip to content

Christmas keeps killing my cats

December 8, 2008
Wogan (the cat) enjoying the sunshine

Wogan (the cat) enjoying the sunshine

Well, strictly speaking Christmas hasn’t killed my cats – but my lovely 13-year-old cat Wogan had to be put down today (lymphoma) almost exactly five years after my other lovely 13-year-old cat Paninaro had to be put down (more lymphoma).

You may be thinking that 13 is proving unlucky for my cats, but I know it’s just coincidence – as is the whole Christmas thing, of course. The point of the post is simply to mark the passing of a lovely old cat.

You may be expecting me to point you to an animal charity now – in keeping with the Moansters Inc philosophy – but here’s the thing. Animal charities get so much more money than human ones, and much as I like animals, I don’t value them (generally) more than humans. I can think of some animals that I’d rather save than some humans, but the point is that donkeys get more charity cash than human ones do. So I’m going to point you to Terry Wogan and Aled Jones’s charity single for Children in Need instead.

My cat wouldn’t mind.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

