Skip to content

Starting the day with the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

May 20, 2009

Every morning my daughter and I suffer as I brush her hair. She wails that it hurts (it may do sometimes, but she complains it hurts even when I cheat and brush my own hair loudly behind her without telling her what I’m doing… four-year-olds eh?) and I try to maintain my equilibrium and ignore the caterwauling.

Giving her a book to look at usually takes much of the pain out of this process for both of us. Usually I hand over a Doctor Who book so she can enjoy Davros and the Daleks, but this morning I came out of the shower to discover she had retrieved for herself We Are All Born Free (Amnesty’s illustrated version of the UDHC for young children).

I have no idea whether reading it to her will lead to fewer confrontations at pre-school today (I can only hope!), but reading this version of Article 10: If we are put on trial this should be in public – the people who try us should not let anyone tell them what to do, reminded me of the Burmese farce playing out, with Aung San Suu Kyi in the spotlight.

The dignity with which she endures her imprisonment (another breach of the UHDC of course) is incredible. I was moved to tears by Gordon Brown’s open letter to Aung San Suu Kyi and moved to action by the The Burma Campaign UK website. I urge you to visit the site now and do what you can to support the campaign – in less than a minute you can send an email calling for action from the UN. Aun San Suu Kyi has been imprisoned for 13 years and 208 days – that’s 7,132,320 minutes (give or take). Please use one of your free minutes to do something positive for this inspiring woman.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

