Skip to content

Read more books without cutting down more trees

May 27, 2009

Fiction books on a shelf. Credit: Johnny Greig / Science Photo Library

Fiction books on a shelf. Credit: Johnny Greig / Science Photo Library

I don’t get as much time to read as I used to (or as much as I would like), but I am doing my best to feed my inner bookworm on a 75 per cent recycled diet these days. (The other 25 per cent is taken up with books (usually the new Christopher Brookmyre) to go on birthday/Christmas lists – otherwise lord only knows what my husband would bring home – a new strimmer probably…)
Of course, the reason for my reduced reading time (ie the beloved fruit of my loins) does not greatly enjoy hanging out in secondhand book shops (not yet anyway). So, thank heavens for Green Metropolis.
Green Metropolis lets you buy and sell used books for a fixed price (only postage costs vary to cover for heavier tomes).
It’s wonderful. It has a wish list, so you can request titles and get an email when your desired book comes into stock. I did this for Mrs Palfry at the Claremont and sold it again within hours of reposting after reading and enjoying it.
So, if some reason, your local library doesn’t satisfy your literary needs (and let’s face it, it can’t sell your books for you), sign up to Green Metropolis and read to your heart’s content without having to count the environmental cost.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

