Skip to content

Children of Peace (sneaking Philip Glenister in under the wire)

June 9, 2009
The Gene Genie (Philip Glenister) with his beloved Quattro.

The Gene Genie (Philip Glenister) with his beloved Quattro.

I’ll be honest – today my brain is buzzing with last night’s Ashes to Ashes series finale (no spoilers here – never fear). All I will say is that it was brilliant – congratulations to all involved, especially the writers, Keeley Hawes and that charismatic ol’ devil Philip Glenister. But, MI was not created so I could dribble on about my latest crushes – what to do?
Simple – a bit of Googling led me to Children of Peace – a charity supported by the good Mr G.
Its website tells us that “Children of Peace was established to offer a fresh, non-partisan approach to conflict resolution in the Middle East. Children of Peace is a UK-based, multi-faith and moderate charity that works with both Israeli and Palestinian children to build positive relationships for a future generation, whose communities might live and work in peace, side-by-side.”
There is plenty you can do to support them and it doesn’t have to involve money (though if you can spare a couple of quid, it would be most welcome). You can send a simple message of support, check out events (performances, exhibitions etc), send warm winter clothes to children or give ’em cold hard cash.
I’m reminding myself that having to wait until next year for answers to the Gene Genie conundrum really is small fry and that the least I can do is lend my support to this worthwhile cause. I hope you will too.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2009 2:32 pm

    Philip is a national treasure so it’s a very good thing to see him supporting charities and causes which aren’t as well-known or trendy as some others. Thanks for the post! I’m an Ashes fan which is how I found you blog. I’m going to add you to my blogroll to keep an eye on the Moanster!

    • June 12, 2009 8:22 pm

      Welcome Shauna! Feel free to suggest other charities that need support and don’t have a massive profile – the aim of the site is to make a difference. My sneaky tactic of using lovely people like Philip to get people reading about things they might not otherwise can be deployed for all good causes.
      Joanna
      Oh and roll on series three!

Leave a Reply

