Skip to content

Turn off the tap while you brush and save electricity

June 30, 2009
Dripping tap. Credit: TEK IMAGE / SCIENCE PHOTO LIBRARY

Dripping tap. Credit: TEK IMAGE / SCIENCE PHOTO LIBRARY

It’s easy to take water for granted in the UK. The odd hosepipe ban aside, we’re rarely short of clean, safe H2O – unlike so many places in the world. But running the tap while you clean your teeth (or whatever) isn’t just sending water down the drain to be cleaned again and sent to re-enter the water cycle (please insert mental image of Geography GCSE question here…), it’s also using electricity. Pumping the water, cleaning it, and so on – all using up just a little more fossil fuel (as likely as not – feel free to tell me if there’s an eco-alternative being used).

Unlike broadband (which I do adore, but can’t honestly rate as essential Gordon), water is vital – we can’t stop using it. We can however use it more carefully. I still get the paddling pool out – I’m just not filling it to the top (a third full keeps the walls up and the sprog happy). I’m certainly not running the tap while I brush my teeth (apparently you shouldn’t rinse your mouth with water after brushing either – it washes away the fluoride) and I’m keeping plate rinsing to an absolute minimum (often not all) before they go in the dishwasher.

And here ends the lesson for today… apologies if I’m being preachy. My sleep was stolen between 1.45 and 5am – feeling a bit tetchy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

