Skip to content

All talk? Not me

July 20, 2009

Well not quite. I’ve made a lot of pronouncements since I started this blog and I thought I should check my progress on promises made, praise sung etc.

So, let us step back in time to November 2008 (all wibbly, wobbly timey-wimey style) and see what was going on. Ah-hah. Well, the Mooncup is still the best thing since sliced bread – there’s no going back to tampons or towels for me; I still think everyone should read The Tiger That Isn’t  (and I’ve just picked up Darrell Huff’s How To Lie With Statistics from Green Metropolis in a bid to further improve my numerical dexterity). And I’m still fighting the fight against the BNP – hurrah for little ol’ me.

I have to confess that despite a valiant effort I haven’t done as well as I should at visting my friends this year (as promised back in December). But at least with broadband at home now, I can keep in touch with them more frequently.

I am still reading We Are All Born Free to my four-year-old daughter and gave it as Christmas presents too. It’s not too late to get a copy from Amnesty you know…

As for January, how depressing to revisit the troubles in Israel and Palestine, though at least things have been quieter of late. Not that that makes it okay, of course – but I’m guessing people down there would rather have the day-to-day grind of survival to face than all-out conflict and rockets raining down.

On a more positive note, I am enjoying my subscription to New Internationalist – even if my Peters projection world map has still to arrive after four attempts… Somewhere there’s a postman with a map in every room I suspect.

David Tennant sporting his red nose for Comic Relief 2009

David Tennant sporting his red nose for Comic Relief 2009

As for February, I know it doesn’t really count, but my lovely girl is still quoting her red nose joke at me once a week or so (Why did the red nose join the marathon? Because he couldn’t stop running…). And if you gave any money at all, let that £80 million total bring a big smile (just like the lovely David Tennant’s) to your face.

I think it’s fair to say that I’m still feeling the love for Bad Science , still keenly buying Fairtrade wherever possible, and still keen to promote the good folks at Maternity Worldwide. Less cheering is the news that Facebook has taken down the tribute page to Michael Causer without warning, and two weeks before the anniversary of his death. His family’s fight for justice goes on – poor sods.

The recap of March to the present day will have to wait until tomorrow – lunchtime is over and as I work for a charity I do have issues with misspending my time!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

