Skip to content

All talk? Not me – part two

July 27, 2009

So, March introduced the horrors of Brain Gym (most people are gobsmacked when I explain the concept to them – I’m hoping our new headmistress will also be suitably annoyed and provoked to action when I raise the issue with her…).

March also included an illustration that ordinary people can make a difference when RNIB successfully lobbied for blind and partially sighted people to get the higher rate of disability living allowance.

MI also explained the Nestle boycott, introduced you to Fix My Street and expressed gobsmackment at the idea of spending £230 on a tiny pot of moisturiser.

April had us picking up litter (something else I should be doing more of), promising to write more letters for prisoners of conscience (a promise unbroken so far), switching to green electricity company Ecotricity (yes, my money is where my mouth is), reminding you how important regular eye tests are and promoting free-range chicken.

May was a chance to promote Green Metropolis (read more books without cutting down more trees), and June was about the brilliance of XKCD and the Ox-Tales short stories to raise money for Oxfam (yes, on my book shelf as we speak, and not bought in the three for two at Waterstones). Refugee week was a reminder to smile at strangers – how are you doing with that one?

Ianto (Gareth David-Lloyd) and Captain Jack (John Barrowman) kiss - again - in Torchwood.

Ianto (Gareth David-Lloyd) and Captain Jack (John Barrowman) kiss - again - in Torchwood.

And to bring us right up to date, this month we’ve blogged on supporting Stonewall (any excuse to get another Torchwood picture in…), the fabulous Jane Walker and her work in the dumps of Manila, taking action to counteract the poisonous message of the BNP, and helping homeless charity Emmaus.

It’s taken longer than I thought it would to wander back through all these posts, but it’s been, for the most part, a cheering task. So, having reassured myself that I have actually been making a difference (even if it’s just a little one), I am reinvigorated to continue the MI mission.I hope you’ll continue to do your bit too – it really makes my day to know readers go on to investigate things for themselves. So, thank you, and onwards and upwards!

Leave a Reply

