Skip to content

Theatre every child should see…

February 20, 2010
The Cat in the Hat

The Cat in the Hat at the Young Vic

I’ve sat through plenty of children’s theatre. None of it was terrible, but all of it was put in the shade by The Cat in The Hat at the Young Vic on Thursday afternoon. MI Junior and myself both had a fabulous time. I was on the edge of my seat as the Cat balanced an increasingly precarious pile of objects as he hopped on the ball (look at me,look at me, look at me now! It is fun to have fun, but you have to know how…).

There were raised eyebrows in some quarters at the notion of travelling 100 miles or so to London for less than an hour of children’s theatre. Aside from the fact that I’d travel twice that far for this – it’s that good – it’s a shame we don’t think our kids deserve quality theatre. I don’t know if The Cat in The Hat will tour, or extend it’s run at the Young Vic, but if you have young children (or can borrow some), don’t miss this fabulous show.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

