Skip to content

Mum’s the word

March 9, 2010

I have mums on my mind today. Partly thanks to last night’s Glee (pop over to pauseliveaction for a top-notch catch-up), but mostly because it seems impossible to fully convey to my brilliant mum just how brilliant she is.

She will go to the ends of the earth, not just for me, but for her grand-daughter too. I must say that I don’t wait for Mother’s Day to thank her for all she does or remind her how much we love her, but I do feel I should make a special effort on this particular day.

Last year I did sponsor a safe birth in Ethiopia for her as well as getting her some flowers. I’m sure I’ll do it again, but it seems a bit of a cop-out to do it two years running. So, I think I’m going to get out my sewing machine and make her a personalised something .(Wheat bag? Cushion cover? Who knows!) It’s not going to damage the environment and, I hope, says I love you more effectively than an icky Mother’s Day compilation CD.

Have you got a better idea? Please let me know! She really is the best mum I know (though my ‘second’ mum Patsie  – actually my best friend’s mum – does come close) and one year I hope to adequately express my admiration, affection and thankfulness.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

